All About The Kingdom
Sermons for Proper 24 through Thanksgiving Based on the Gospel Texts
David G. Rogne

Price: $12.95

ISBN: 0788027107
Size: 5.5x8.5
Pages: 88
David Rogne combines over fifty years of personal scholarship and reflection in All About the Kingdom, a collection of Cycle A sermons for the last third of the Season of Pentecost, with a predominant message on the ever-present reality of the kingdom of God. Rogne's refreshing commitment to the authority of scripture creates relevant reflections on the teachings of Jesus that can be used by anyone who wants to better understand the calling of Christ.

"It is not enough to simply hear the word. The truth for us is discovered when we act on what we have heard. The deepest knowing comes through doing. Apprentices learn from watching and listening to the journeyman, but the learners accomplish something only when they put what they have learned into practice." It is this careful blending of faith and action, Rogne teaches, that is the essence of the kingdom, and when Christian believers allow their lives to experience transformation through the message of Jesus, God's kingdom grows. In this series of nine sermons (Proper 24 through Thanksgiving), All About the Kingdom is certain to present challenging messages on love, discipleship, and thanksgiving that will enlighten believers with a bold reminder that the time to engage in the kingdom is now.

David G. Rogne served as senior minister at several of the larger United Methodist congregations in southern California for 39 years. A graduate of the University of California at Berkeley, Rogne received his M.Div. degree from Fuller Theological Seminary and his D.Min. degree from the Claremont School of Theology, where his doctoral project involved first-person preaching. Rogne currently writes, lectures, and preaches on special occasions, and is a resident of South Carolina. He is also the author of Telling It Like It Was and Let Me Tell You… (CSS) and also a collaborator on Sermons on the Gospel Readings, Series I, Cycle B.